Iowa corn trailer
IOWA CORN: Farmers are urged to vote in the Iowa Corn Promotion Board elections July 18. This is for Crop Reporting Districts 1, 3, 6 and 9. Board members make spending decisions for funds generated by the corn checkoff.

Vote in Iowa corn checkoff director elections July 18

Farmers can vote at their local county ISU Extension office for representation on ICPB for a 3-year term.

The Iowa Corn Promotion Board will hold elections in Crop Reporting Districts 1, 3, 6 and 9 on July 18. Iowa corn farmers elect their peers to serve on the ICPB to oversee the investment of funds generated by the Iowa corn checkoff.

The board's primary activities include deciding how to spend the checkoff money on programs and projects. Those include domestic and foreign market development, research into new and value-added corn uses, and education about the corn industry.

Crop Reporting Districts 1, 3, 6 and 9 can vote at their local county ISU Extension office for their representation on the ICPB for a three-year term. Anyone who has produced and marketed 250 bushels of corn or more in Iowa in the previous marketing year is eligible to vote in this election. Results of the election will be made public on July 21. 

Candidates are as follows:

Crop Reporting District No. 1. Counties are Buena Vista, Clay, Cherokee, Dickinson, Emmet, Lyon, O'Brien, Osceola, Palo Alto, Plymouth, Pocahontas and Sioux.
• Kelly Nieuwenhuis, O'Brien County
• John Schott, Pocahontas County

Crop Reporting District No. 3. Counties are Allamakee, Black Hawk, Bremer, Buchanan, Chickasaw, Clayton, Delaware, Dubuque, Fayette, Howard and Winneshiek.
• Greg Alber, Buchanan County
• Ryan Oberbroeckling, Clayton County 

Crop Reporting District No. 6. Counties are Benton, Cedar, Clinton, Iowa, Jackson, Jones, Johnson, Linn, Muscatine and Scott.
• Pete Brecht, Linn County
• Daron Oberbroeckling, Scott County

Crop Reporting District No. 9. Counties are Davis, Des Moines, Henry, Jefferson, Keokuk, Louisa, Lee, Mahaska, Van Buren, Wapello and Washington.
• Heath Greiner, Davis County
• Stan Nelson, Des Moines County

The Iowa Corn Promotion Board works to develop and defend markets, fund research, and provide education about corn and corn products. For more information, visit

Another ethanol-powered Iowa Corn 300

In other news from the Iowa Corn Growers Association, this year’s 11th running of the Iowa Corn 300 will be remembered for many reasons, ICGA says in a press release. On July 9 at the Iowa Speedway at Newton, Helio Castroneves brought home his first win at the Iowa Corn 300. Also, this year's race included many unique aspects showcasing Iowa Corn farmers and the corn-based ethanol that fuels IndyCars.

The corn start-and-finish line on the track of the Iowa Speedway made the connection to Iowa's cornfields and ethanol powered racing on the track. Iowa Corn Promotion Board President Larry Klever kicked off the race by saying, "Drivers, start your Iowa corn ethanol-power engines," while Iowa Corn Growers Association President Kurt Hora waved the green flag. Klever and Hora presented Castroneves with the Iowa Corn 300 trophy in victory lane.

"Iowa Corn congratulates Helio Castroneves on his first win here at the Iowa Corn 300," said Klever, a farmer from Audubon. "This event continues to be an excellent platform for promoting and showcasing the true power and performance of ethanol. Over the past decade, IndyCar drivers have logged millions of miles racing on E85. It's a great way to remind consumers to fill up like the pros."

ICGA celebrates 50 years
Fans at the track enjoyed activities including a sweet corn feed and a fan walk. At the Iowa Corn VIP tent, ICGA members heard from IndyCar driver J.R. Hildebrand, as well U.S. Sen. Joni Ernst, U.S. Reps. Rod Blum and Dave Loebsack, Iowa Gov. Kim Reynolds, Iowa Lt. Gov. Adam Gregg, Iowa Secretary of Agriculture Bill Northey, and Iowa Deputy Secretary of Agriculture Mike Naig. 

"2017 marks the 50th anniversary of the Iowa Corn Growers Association as one of the longest standing and highly respected ag organizations in the country representing 7,500 Iowa corn farmer-members," said ICGA President Kurt Hora, a farmer from Washington. "We thank our Iowa Corn members and their families for helping us celebrate 50 years and another great Iowa Corn 300."


Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.