Corn Growers Announce State-Level PAC Awards

Iowa Corn Growers Association also releases names of candidates for Congress that it is supporting in 2008 elections.

The Iowa Corn Growers Political Action Committee has endorsed 31 candidates for the Iowa State Senate and the Iowa House of Representatives for the 2008 election cycle. "Political decisions here in Iowa are as critical to the future of farming as any decision that comes out of Washington, D.C.," says Dave Sieck, a farmer from southwest Iowa who is the ICGA's PAC chairman. "PAC support is one tool we can use to elect people who know Iowa agriculture and who work on issues that really matter to corn growers."

As in the federal races, the Iowa Corn PAC is supporting both Democrats and Republicans. Here are state candidates the corn grower group is supporting:

* For Iowa Senate: Jerry Behn, R-Boone; Thomas Courtney, D-Burlington; Gene Fraise, D-Fort Madison; Michael Gronstal, D-Council Bluffs; James Hahn, R-Muscatine; Tom Hancock, D-Epworth; Jack Kibbie, D-Emmetsburg; Paul McKinley, R-Chariton; Tom Rielly, D-Oskaloosa; Frank Wood, D-Eldridge; and Mark Zieman, R-Postville.
* For Iowa House of Representatives: McKinley Bailey, D-Webster City; Paul Bell, D-Newton; Betty DeBoef, R-What Cheer; Dave Deyoe, R-Nevada; Jack Drake, R-Lewis; Geri Huser, D-Altoona; Kevin McCarthy, D-Des Moines; Delores Mertz, D-Ottosen; Helen Miller, D-Fort Dodge; Pat Murphy, D-Dubuque; Steve Olson, R-DeWitt; Kraig Paulsen, R-Hiawatha; Christopher Rants, R-Sioux City; Dan Rasmussen, R-Independence; Mike Reasoner, D-Creston; Nathan Reichert, D-Muscatine; Doug Struyk, R-Council Bluffs; Linda Upmeyer, R-Garner; Andrew Wenthe, D-Hawkeye; and Gary Worthan, R-Storm Lake.

Iowa Corn endorses Congressional candidates, too

Looking to the federal elections, the Iowa Corn PAC has endorsed a bipartisan list of candidates for U.S. Congress for 2008. "We work to support candidates at the federal level who have supported issues that affect our members," says Sieck. "When our political officials in Washington are working hard on behalf of Iowa corn growers, then, of course, we want to help re-elect them."

In the upcoming election this fall, the Iowa Corn PAC is endorsing a list of incumbents running for federal office this year:

* For U.S. Senate, Iowa Corn is endorsing Sen. Tom Harkin, D-IA
* For U.S. House of Representatives, Iowa Corn is endorsing the following congressmen: Bruce Braley, D-District 1; Dave Loebsack, D-District 2; Leonard Boswell, D-District 3; Tom Latham, R-District 4; and Steve King; R-District 5.

PAC decisions are made by a bipartisan committee of Iowa Corn Growers Association members after candidates are evaluated for their support of Iowa Corn Growers Association policies. That includes such topics as the farm bill, ethanol, transportation, tax issues, etc.

Funding for the PAC comes from voluntary donations by ICGA members. ICGA dues money cannot be used for PAC contributions. Iowa Corn Growers PAC only contributes to candidates in the year they are up for election.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.