Iowa Beef Council Elects New Officers

Iowa Beef Council Elects New Officers

Iowa Beef Industry Council has elected its 2012 team which oversees Iowa's beef checkoff program; Elaine Utesch of Correctionville is new chairman.

Elaine Utesch, cow-calf producer and cattle feeder from Correctionville in northwest Iowa, was elected chairman of the Iowa Beef Industry Council (IBIC) at the January 2012 board meeting. Utesch will lead the group of cattle producers who oversee the Iowa beef checkoff program.

Scott Niess, Osage, will serve as vice-chairman with Roger Brummett, Bedford, as secretary and Daryl Strohbehn, Boone, as treasurer.  Scott Heater, seedstock and cow-calf producer from Wapello, was seated as a new director on the Iowa Beef Industry Council (IBIC).  Elected at the IBIC annual meeting in December, Heater will serve a three-year term.

Other members serving on the IBIC executive committee are Bill Northey, Iowa Secretary of Agriculture; Wendy Wintersteen, dean of the College of Agriculture at Iowa State University; and Justin Gibson of Lamoni, representing the Iowa Livestock Market Association.

Eight cattle producers appointed to one-year terms on the IBIC executive committee are Nancy Couser, Nevada; Steve Rehder, Hawarden; Ed Greiman, Garner; Dan Cook, New Providence; Terri Carstensen, Odebolt; Scott McGregor, Nashua; Tom Hotz, Lone Tree; and Helen Wiese, Manning. Retiring IBIC directors include Bob Henderson, Albia and Ken Birker, Vinton.

A number of Iowans are also serving on National Cattlemen's committees

In addition to serving on the Iowa Beef Council, a number of Iowans are also serving on national beef and cattle committees. For example, Iowa has four producers serving on the Cattlemen's Beef Board: Will Frazee, Emerson; Kent Pruismann, Rock Valley; Dean Black, Somers and Jeff Clausen, Carson.

Cattle producers who represent Iowa on national beef promotion committees are serving in leadership positions. Terri Carstensen, Odebolt, chairs the Advertising Committee and serves as Region III vice-president of the Federation of State Beef Councils; Jeff Clausen, Carson and a Beef Board member, chairs the Beef Safety Committee; Scott McGregor, Nashua, chairs the Foodservice Committee. Will Frazee, Emerson, serves on the Executive Committee of the Cattlemen's Beef Board.

The Iowa Beef Industry Council administers the Iowa portion of the national beef checkoff. The 2011-2012 Iowa budget will invest about $1.7 million in state and national beef promotion, research, consumer information, and industry information programs. In addition, Iowa forwards approximately $1.7 million to the National Cattlemen's Beef Board for national beef promotion programs to market beef domestically and internationally. For more information, contact the Iowa Beef Industry Council, P.O. Box 451, Ames, IA  50010, 515-296-2305. Also, visit

Cattle producers from these counties serving on the Iowa Beef Industry Council:


Boone-Daryl Strohbehn, Boone, Treasurer  

Carroll- Helen Wiese, Manning

Chickasaw-Scott McGregor, Nashua

Hancock-Ed Greiman, Garner

Hardin-Dan Cook, New Providence

Johnson-Tom Hotz, Lone Tree

Louisa- Scott Heater, Wapello, Elected Director

Mitchell -Scott Niess, Osage, Vice-chair

Sac-Terri Carstensen, Odebolt

Sioux-Steve Rehder, Hawarden

Story-Nancy Couser, Nevada

Taylor-Roger Brummett, Bedford, Secretary

Woodbury-Elaine Utesch, Correctionville, Chairman

Producers representing Iowa on the Cattlemen's Beef Board:

Calhoun- Dean Black, Somers

Mills - Montgomery - Will Frazee, Emerson

Pottawattamie -Jeff Clausen, Carson

Sioux-Kent Pruismann, Rock Valley

Producers serving on the Federation of State Beef Councils:

Carroll-Helen Wiese, Manning

Chickasaw-Scott McGregor, Nashua

Johnson-Tom Hotz, Lone Tree

Sac-Terri Carstensen, Odebolt

Woodbury- Elaine Utesch, Correctionville

Producer-directed and consumer-focused, the Iowa Beef Industry Council is funded by the $1-per-head beef checkoff.  Checkoff dollars are invested in beef promotion, consumer information, research, industry information and foreign market development, all with the purpose of strengthening beef demand.  For more information, visit
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.