Iowa Corn Collegiate Advisory Team Named

Iowa Corn Collegiate Advisory Team Named

Eighteen Iowa college students have been named to the second annual Iowa Corn Collegiate Advisory Team. The team works with Iowa Corn Growers Association on ideas and activities to help develop future agricultural leaders.

Eighteen Iowa college students have been named to the Iowa Corn Collegiate Advisory Team. This is the second team that has been fielded, the first was named last year. The Iowa Corn Collegiate Advisory Team (CAT) is sponsored by the Iowa Corn Growers Association and the Iowa Corn Promotion Board. 

The Iowa Corn CAT assists the Iowa Corn Growers Association (ICGA) and the Iowa Corn Promotion Board (ICPB) in developing programs that target and enhance Iowa Corn's relationship with students who are pursuing careers in agricultural production and agriculture business and industries.

"The newly named Iowa Corn Collegiate Advisory Team is made up of excellent students from across Iowa who are passionate about the future of agriculture in our state," says Bob Hemesath, an ICGA director and chair of the committee overseeing the program. "We are excited to work with this team on ideas and programs that will benefit future leaders of the agriculture industry."

Total of 18 students from various Iowa colleges chosen for new team

Participants of the newly selected corn team are: Adam Bierbaum, Iowa State University; Kasey Deaver, Des Moines Area Community College; Brent Drey, Iowa State University; Kyle Fischer, Iowa State University; Dalton Frana, Ellsworth Community College; Clayton Hester, Kirkwood Community College; Cale Juergensen, Iowa Lakes Community College; Jordan Lyon, Muscatine Community College; Tyler Martens, Southwest Community College; Joe Mickelson, Graceland University; Evan Sieck, Iowa State University; Shaniel Smith, Indian Hills Community College; Chanel Vorrath, Iowa Western Community College; and Tyler Woodward, Dordt College.

Also chosen to return to the CAT from the inaugural team are: Alyssa Foster, Iowa State University (transferred from Kirkwood Community College); Andrew Lauver of ISU; Logan Lyon, Iowa State University (transferred from Ellsworth Community College); and Steve Roose, Iowa Central Community College.

The Iowa Corn Promotion Board (ICPB) works to develop and defend markets, fund research and provide education about corn and corn products. The Iowa Corn Growers Association (ICGA) is a membership organization lobbying on ag issues on behalf of its 6,700 farmer members. Both organizations work on the joint mission to create opportunities for long-term Iowa corn grower profitability.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.