Iowa Corn Growers Announce 2014 Friend of Iowa Corn Award

Iowa Corn Growers Announce 2014 Friend of Iowa Corn Award

ICGA names two recipients for this year's award, to be presented at Aug. 23 annual meeting in Des Moines.

The Iowa Corn Growers Association has named two recipients for the 2014 Friend of Iowa Corn Award. The Friend of Iowa Corn Award is an annual award given to individuals who show exemplary effort on Iowa Corn Growers Association policy issues. Recipients for 2014 are State Representative Bobby Kaufmann, a member of the Iowa Legislature, and National Corn Growers Association staff person Sam Willett.

NEW CORN LEADERS: New farmer leaders of the Iowa Corn Growers Association and Iowa Corn Promotion Board were recently elected, and some were re-elected. Also, several Iowans have been appointed to serve on National Corn Growers Association and U.S. Grains Council boards.

Award winners were selected based on their support of ICGA's highest priorities, their accessibility and working relationships with ICGA, their effectiveness as a leader on important issues to the ICGA and overall support of ICGA policy. The awards will be presented at the 2014 ICGA Annual Meeting on Saturday, August 23 in Des Moines.

"We are proud to recognize these outstanding individuals for their efforts to help with the policy goals set by farmers in Iowa," says Roger Zylstra, a farmer from Lynnville and the current ICGA president. "We realize that we need many 'friends' in the political arena, not only in Washington D.C., but also in Iowa. These individuals have gone above and beyond on behalf of the corn industry as a whole."

First legislator to ever receive the "Friend of Iowa Corn" award
Bobby Kaufmann, a farmer and Iowa House of Representatives member, was selected due to his leadership in passage of ICGA's priority bill regarding the Iowa Corn Checkoff. Kaufmann has an understanding and affinity with many Iowa Corn policy positions, and has earned a reputation as a problem-solver, approaching issues in a pragmatic fashion. As an advocate of the Iowa Corn Checkoff Bill, he helped arrange local meetings in the area with farmers who had checkoff questions, worked to eliminate concerning provisions in the bill and as floor manager, moved the bill forward to its ultimate passage. Representative Kaufmann is the first legislator to ever receive the Friend of Iowa Corn Award.


Sam Willett, who is the director of public policy for the National Corn Growers Association, was selected for his instrumental role in helping the ICGA implement its highest federal priority this year in the new 2014 Farm Bill. Willet has led the charge on crop insurance and a market oriented risk management commodity program and has built outstanding relationships with legislators as a trusted resource on Capitol Hill. 

The Friend of Iowa Corn Award is an annual award given to individuals who show exemplary effort on ICGA policy issues. Past recipients include Brenna Findley, Dean Lemke and Joe Shultz. The Friend of Iowa Corn Awards are presented during the Iowa Corn Annual Meeting each August. ICGA is a membership organization, lobbying on ag issues on behalf of its over 7,800 farmer members. 

Iowa Corn Growers announce director election results
New farmer leaders for the Iowa Corn Growers Association and the Iowa Corn Promotion Board were elected in July. The newly-elected directors, president, vice president and chair will officially take their seats on September 1, 2014. ICGA directors will bring grassroots policy issues forward and directors for the ICPB will work on market development, education and research. Both organizations will continue to create opportunities for long-term Iowa corn grower profitability. 

Here's the line-up of both new and re-elected directors— *Re-elected directors;

**Newly elected directors: 

Iowa Corn Growers Association

President - Jerry Mohr, Scott County

Vice President - Bob Hemesath, Winneshiek County

Chairman - Roger Zylstra, Jasper County

District 1 - Dean Meyer, Lyon County

District 2 - Gary Woodley, Wright County

District 3 - Mark Recker, Fayette County**

District 4 - Curt Mether, Harrison County*

District 5 - Dennis Friest, Hardin County

District 6 - Jim Greif, Linn County

District 7 - Carl Jardon, Fremont County

District 8 - Kyle Phillips, Marion County

District 9 - Kurt Hora, Washington County*

At-Large - Pam Johnson, Floyd County

At-Large - Dean Taylor, Jasper County

At-Large - Kevin Ross, Pottawattamie County

At-Large - Bruce Rohwer, O'Brien County

Iowa Corn Promotion Board

President - Chris Edgington, Mitchell County

Vice President - Mark Heckman, Muscatine County

Chair - Bob Bowman, Clinton County

District 1 - Lowell Appleton, O'Brien County*

District 2 - Chris Weydert, Kossuth County


District 3 - Greg Alber, Buchanan County**

District 4 - Larry Klever, Audubon County

District 5 - Roscoe Eggers, Marshall County

District 6 - Pete Brecht, Linn County**

District 7 - Duane Aistrope, Fremont/Page County

District 8 - Donald Hunerdosse, Warren County

District 9 - Wayne Humphreys, Louisa County

At Large - Deb Keller, Wright County

At-Large - Kevin Rempp, Poweshiek County

NCGA directors—Iowa corn farmers also serve on the governing board for the National Corn Growers Association. The NCGA directors include: Bob Bowman, Clinton County; Don Elsbernd, Allamakee County; Pam Johnson, Floyd County; Kevin Ross, Pottawattamie County.

U.S. Grains Council directors—U.S. Grains Council members recently voted to elect a new slate of board of directors, including: Dick Gallagher, Washington County; Craig Floss, Chief Executive Officer at Iowa Corn. Gallagher was elected as the Corn Sector director and Floss as the State Checkoff Sector director. Julius Schaaf from Fremont County will become the past chairman. Deb Keller from Wright County also serves as an At-Large Director.

The Iowa Corn Promotion Board (ICPB) works to develop and defend markets, fund research, and provide education about corn and corn products. The Iowa Corn Growers Association (ICGA) is a membership organization lobbying on agricultural issues on behalf of its 7,800 farmer members. Both organizations work on the joint mission to create opportunities for long-term Iowa corn grower profitability.

The U.S. Grains Council is a private, non-profit partnership of farmers and agribusinesses committed to building and expanding international markets for U.S. barley, corn, grain sorghum and their products. The Council is headquartered in Washington, D.C., and has nine international offices that oversee programs in more than 50 countries. Financial support from our private industry members, including state checkoffs, agribusinesses, state entities and others, triggers federal matching funds from the USDA resulting in a combined program value of nearly $29 million.

The National Corn Growers Association founded in 1957, represents more than 40,000 dues-paying corn farmers nationwide and the interests of more than 300,000 growers who contribute through corn checkoff programs in their states. NCGA and its 48 affiliated state associations and checkoff organizations work together to create and increase opportunities for their members and their industry.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.