Iowa Corn Growers Name New Collegiate Advisory Team

Iowa Corn Growers Name New Collegiate Advisory Team

Twenty students from Iowa colleges and universities chosen to serve on new Iowa Corn Collegiate team.

A group of 20 Iowa college students have been named to the fourth Iowa Corn Collegiate Advisory Team. Iowa Corn made the announcement in November.

The Iowa Corn Collegiate Advisory Team, or CAT for short, is sponsored by the Iowa Corn Growers Association and the Iowa Corn Promotion Board. The Iowa Corn CAT assists the ICGA and ICPB in developing programs that target and enhance Iowa Corn's relationship with students who are pursuing careers in agricultural production and agriculture business and industries. 

IOWA CORN TEAM: A new Iowa Corn Collegiate Advisory Team has been selected, the fourth such team in the program's history. Sponsored by the Iowa Corn Growers Association and Iowa Corn Promotion Board, the team assists the two corn grower groups in developing programs to enhance ICGA and ICPB relationships with students pursuing ag careers.

"The Iowa Corn Collegiate Advisory Team is a great opportunity for students to engage and connect with the agriculture industry," says Lowell Appleton, an Iowa Corn director and chair of the committee that oversees the program. "We are looking forward to working with these talented students on programs and ideas to help promote and grow the industry."

Iowa Corn team has 20 students, who come from across the state

Participants who are serving on the recently selected collegiate corn team for the coming year are: 

Titan Immel; Adair; DMACC-Ankeny Campus

Will Vande Voort; New Sharon; Dordt College

Cole Birchmier; Story City; Ellsworth Community College

Tessa Otto; Murray; Graceland University

Angela Petersen; Cedar Falls; Hawkeye Community College

Nicolas Davis; Humboldt; Iowa Central Community College

Ashley Smeby; Klemme; Iowa State University

Kalli Weber; Mapleton; Iowa State University

Kaitlin Ihns; Wilton; Iowa State University

Rebecca Haugland; Solon; Iowa State University

Haley Banwart; West Bend; Iowa State University

Brogan Bulecheck; Centerville; Indian Hills Community College 

Ben Guthrie; Hopkinton; Kirkwood Community College

Katie Gubbels; Laurel, NE; Morningside College

Whitley Frieden; Joy; Muscatine Community College

Derek Counsell; Orchard; North Iowa Community College 

Natalie Te Grootenhuis; Hospers; Northwestern College

Skyler Wright; Keokuk; Northeast Iowa Community College

Haley Vandenberg; Farmington; Southeastern Community College

Matt Mitchell; Indianola; Southwestern Community College

Students are selected to the team for a one-year term
The first Iowa Corn CAT meeting for this new team was held in November at the Iowa Corn offices in Johnston. The students were selected to the team for a one-year term.

The Iowa Corn Promotion Board (ICPB) works to develop and defend markets, fund research, and provide education about corn and corn products. The Iowa Corn Growers Association (ICGA) is a membership organization lobbying on agricultural issues on behalf of its 7,800 farmer members. Both organizations work on the joint mission to create opportunities for long-term Iowa corn grower profitability.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.