Iowa Soybean Association Awards $15,000 in Scholarships

Iowa Soybean Association Awards $15,000 in Scholarships

Nine Iowa high school seniors earn ISA scholarships

The Iowa Soybean Association last week announced $15,000 in scholarship awards this year to nine Iowa high school seniors.

The scholarships are awarded to students planning to pursue college degrees in an ag-related field.

The ISA scholarship committee awarded a $1,500 scholarship to one student in each crop district. Mikayla Lin Dolch of Villisca was named the overall state winner, receiving a $3,000 award.

"Each year, our scholarship committee is impressed by the caliber of students applying for scholarships to assist them in their collegiate careers and future involvement in agriculture," says Brian Kemp, ISA president who farms near Sibley. "These students demonstrate exemplary character; not only as students who earn strong grade-point averages, but also as active members of their communities through their volunteer efforts." To learn more about ISA, visit the ISA website.

The following students were chosen as this year's ISA ag scholarship winners:

District 1: Heather Hoefling, Marcus-Meriden-Cleghorn High School, Marcus

District 2: Olivia Bisbee, St. Ansgar Community High School, St. Ansgar

District 3: Michael Tupper, New Hampton High School, New Hampton

District 4: Paige Whitney, OA-BCIG High School, Ida Grove

District 5: Annette Payne, Southeast Polk High School, Pleasant Hill

District 6: Elizabeth Zuber, Williamsburg High School, Williamsburg

District 7: Mikayla Lin Dolch, Southwest Valley High School, Villisca

District 8: Kenton Lain, Wayne Community High School, Corydon

District 9: Kolton Greiner, Keota High School, Keota

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.