Iowa Soybean Association Has New President

Iowa Soybean Association Has New President

ISA recently held its annual elections and farmer Delbert Christensen of Audubon is the new president.

The Iowa Soybean Association recently held its board elections. Delbert Christensen took his seat as president and Randy VanKooten of Lynnville was chosen as president-elect. Brian Kemp of Sibley was elected treasurer and Mark Jackson of Rose Hill was elected secretary. Dean Coleman of Humboldt was re-elected to the executive committee.

Former ISA President John Heisdorffer of Keota was recognized for his contribution to ISA during his term as president. Heisdorffer and wife, Deanna, operate a farm near Keota, where they raise corn and soybeans with some CRP acreage. Their operation also includes two feeder-to-finish swine barns.

Outgoing president Heisdorffer honored for service

Heisdorffer also participated in a recent trade mission to China to learn firsthand about the largest customer of U.S. soybeans. He is also a director of a local biodiesel plant and represents that board to the National Biodiesel Board (NBB). He has served as secretary, treasurer and technical committee chairman of the NBB.  He has made trips to Washington D.C., for five continuous years and has met with Iowa's senators and congressmen on behalf of NBB. In addition, he has served for 11 years on a local cooperative board.

Heisdorffer noted a couple of highlights during his term as president, including watching ISA's new building be constructed and interacting with other state soybean associations and their leaders to cooperate on programs. Heisdorffer hopes the board will continue to connect with soybean growers. "I hope that the new executive committee and board will have success in launching our new membership program," he says. "We also need to be aware of our customers' needs and be sure we're ready to meet them."

John Schlorholtz of Percival was also recognized for the two years he served on ISA's board. Schlorholtz and his wife, Teresa, raise soybeans, and he was a director for six years with his local co-op. He spent eight years on the Fremont County Extension Council, and was president for three years for the Fremont/Page Corn and Soybean Association. Schlorholtz did not seek re-election to ISA's board.

TAGS: Soybean
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.