ISU Faculty Appointed to National Air Quality Task Force

Three members of ISU College of Ag faculty will serve on USDA panel to provide recommendations on air quality.

Three members of the Iowa State University College of Agriculture and Life Sciences faculty have been appointed to a national air quality task force.

Hongwei Xin, a professor of ag and biosystems engineering, and Robert Burns, an ag and biosystems engineering associate professor, along with Jerry Hatfield, director of the National Soil Tilth Laboratory at ISU and a collaborating professor of agronomy, will serve on the Agricultural Air Quality Task Force. U.S. Secretary of Agriculture Ed Schafer recently appointed 25 people to the new task force.

Task force members will review research addressing air quality issues related to agriculture or the agriculture infrastructure and provide recommendations to the U.S. Secretary of Agriculture on development and implementation of air quality policy and research needs.

Other responsibilities with which the task force is charged include working to ensure intergovernmental coordination in establishing policy for agricultural air quality, assisting federal agencies in correcting erroneous data with respect to air quality, and ensuring air quality research related to agriculture receives adequate peer review and considers economic feasibility. The appointments are for a two-year term. An orientation meeting for the task force will be held Nov. 6-7 in Washington, D.C.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.