Last Chance to Win $2,500 For Your Community

Last Chance to Win $2,500 For Your Community

Deadline to sign up for America's Farmers Grow Communities Program is November 30, so sign up now online. One farmer in each of Iowa's 99 participating counties will win.

During the season of giving, Iowa farmers can get into the holiday spirit by signing up to win $2,500 for their favorite local nonprofit organizations through America's Farmer's Grow Communities, sponsored by the Monsanto Fund. One farmer in each of Iowa's 99 participating counties will win. Those farmers can share their holiday cheer with food pantries, fire departments, students at local schools and others by signing up and designating an organization in their community.

Food pantries give food to the hungry all year round; though, the need for food can be magnified around the holidays. "This assistance from Grow Communities helped so much as job loss and tough economic times continue to affect our clients," says Nicole Jones, director of the Humboldt County Food Pantry.

This year, the program has expanded to include a total of 1,245 counties. The addition of 41 new counties will result in an additional $102,500 in donations. In Iowa, the Monsanto Fund will invest a total of $247,500 toward nonprofit organizations in rural communities. 

Sign up now through Nov. 30 to try to win $2,500 for your favorite charity

Now through Nov. 30, 2011 farmers can apply at, or call 1-877-267-3332 to apply by phone.  A $1 donation will be made to local United Way chapters for each farmer who signs up, to further enhance the investment in rural communities. Farmers who meet program eligibility requirements may enter regardless of involvement with previous Grow Communities programs. One winner will be selected at random from each of the 1,245 eligible counties, and the Monsanto Fund will announce winning farmers and recipient nonprofits in January 2012.

Eligible counties in Iowa are Adair, Adams, Allamakee, Appanoose, Audubon, Benton, Black Hawk, Boone, Bremer, Buchanan, Buena Vista, Butler, Calhoun, Carroll, Cass, Cedar, Cerro Gordo, Cherokee, Chickasaw, Clarke, Clay, Clayton, Clinton, Crawford, Dallas, Davis, Decatur, Delaware, Des Moines, Dickinson, Dubuque, Emmet, Fayette, Floyd, Franklin, Fremont, Greene, Grundy, Guthrie, Hamilton, Hancock, Hardin, Harrison, Henry, Howard, Humboldt, Ida, Iowa, Jackson, Jasper, Jefferson, Johnson, Jones, Keokuk, Kossuth, Lee, Linn, Louisa, Lucas, Lyon, Madison, Mahaska, Marion, Marshall, Mills, Mitchell, Monona, Monroe, Montgomery, Muscatine, O'Brien, Osceola, Page, Palo Alto, Plymouth, Pocahontas, Polk, Pottawattamie, Poweshiek, Ringgold, Sac, Scott, Shelby, Sioux, Story, Tama, Taylor, Union, Van Buren, Wapello, Warren, Washington, Wayne, Webster, Winnebago, Winneshiek, Woodbury, Worthy and Wright.

Visit to sign up and to learn more about America's Farmers Grow Communities. This program is part of a broad commitment by Monsanto Fund to invest in farm communities, in order to highlight the important contributions farmers make every day to our society.

About the Monsanto Fund: The Monsanto Fund, the philanthropic arm of the Monsanto Company, is a nonprofit organization dedicated to strengthening the farm communities where farmers and Monsanto Company employees live and work. Visit the Monsanto Fund at
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.