Money to Fix Farm Conservation Practices

Money to Fix Farm Conservation Practices

Iowa Department of Agriculture announces $360,000 available for soil conservation repairs. Apply at local Soil & Water Conservation District office.

FAQ: Is cost-share money still available to help landowners repair terraces and grass waterways damaged by the severe storm events that occurred in 2011 crop year?

Answer: Iowa Secretary of Agriculture Bill Northey says the Iowa Department of Agriculture & Land Stewardship has $360,000 in cost-share funds available to help repair soil conservation practices such as terraces and grass waterways damaged by storm events during the 2011 crop year.

The funding is available in 60 counties that were granted disaster designation by USDA. The designation applies to 27Iowa counties that were affected by severe storms, excessive rain and flooding during the 2011 crop year; plus 33 contiguous counties are also covered by the designation. 

“Much of Iowa was impacted by severe weather this summer, and as a result damage to conservation practices was also widespread,” Northey notes. “I encourage farmers with practices that need repair to work with their local Soil and Water Conservation District office. It’s important these practices are repaired so they continue keeping the soil on the farm and out of our lakes and rivers.”

Maximum cost share rate for repairing conservation practices is 75%

The maximum cost share rate for repairing practices will be 75%. The deadline to apply for the repair funding is December 30, 2011 and all repairs must be complete by June 30, 2012.

Eligible Soil and Water Conservation District offices will begin offering funding to repair conservation practices in these 60 counties immediately on a first come, first serve basis. The $360,000 is the funding still remaining from the $6.5 million the Iowa Department of Agriculture received in 2009 from the state bonding plan to support conservation efforts.

The 27 counties included in this declaration are: Clarke, Davis, Decatur, Fremont, Henry, Jefferson, Jones, Keokuk, Lee, Linn, Louisa, Lucas, Mahaska, Marshall, Mills, Monona, Monroe, Montgomery, Page, Polk, Tama, Taylor, Van Buren, Wapello, Washington, Wayne and Woodbury. The additional 33 counties were named as contiguous disaster counties. Those counties are: Adams, Appanoose, Benton, Black Hawk, Boone, Buchanan, Cass, Cedar, Cherokee, Clinton, Crawford, Dallas, Delaware, Des Moines, Dubuque, Grundy, Hardin, Harrison, Ida, Iowa, Jackson, Jasper, Johnson, Madison, Marion, Muscatine, Plymouth, Pottawattamie, Poweshiek, Ringgold, Story, Union and Warren.

If you have specific questions or need details on USDA farm programs, contact your local USDA Farm Service Agency or other appropriate USDA agency office. And be sure to read the regular column of “Frequently Asked Questions about the Farm Program” appearing in each issue of Wallaces Farmer magazine and at

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.