Three new members appointed to National Pork Board

Three new members appointed to National Pork Board

They join two reappointed members in three-year terms on the 15-member board.

Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack has announced five appointments to the 15-member National Pork Board. All five appointees will each serve 3-year terms.

The appointees were nominated by the National Pork Producers Delegate Body during its meeting in Indianapolis, Ind., in March. The newly appointed members representing pork producers are: Alicia Pedemonti, Hopkinton, N.H.; Gene Noem, Ames, Iowa; and Michael Patrick Skahill, Williamsburg, Va.  The members reappointed to the board are:  Janet C. Archer, Goldsboro, N.C.; and Terry O’Neel, Friend, Neb.

Three new members join two reappointees to start three-year terms on National Pork Board. (Photo: Digital Vision/Thinkstock)

Established under the Pork Promotion, Research, and Consumer Information Act of 1985, the board develops budgets and awards contracts to carry out a coordinated program designed to strengthen the position of pork in the marketplace.

Research and promotion programs are industry-funded, were authorized by Congress, and date back to 1966. Since then, Congress has authorized the establishment of 22 research and promotion boards. They empower farmers and ranchers to leverage their own resources to develop new markets, strengthen existing markets, and conduct important research and promotion activities. USDA’s Agricultural Marketing Service provides oversight, paid for by industry assessments, which ensures fiscal accountability and program integrity for participating stakeholders.

Source: USDA

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.