Two Iowa Soybean Growers Named to Help Lead National Groups

Gaesser elected to serve as a vice president of ASA, Stillman on USB executive board.

Two Iowa soybean farmer-leaders were recognized for their efforts last week by being named to national positions on the United Soybean Board and the American Soybean Association executive
committees. Ray Gaesser of Corning was elected to serve as a vice president of ASA, and Jim Stillman of Emmetsburg was elected to serve on the USB's executive board.

"Iowa is very fortunate to have these two soybean farmer leaders serving on the executive committees of both our national organizations," commented John Heisdorffer, a soybean grower from Keota in southeast Iowa and the Iowa Soybean Association president. "They will keep Iowa soybean producers connected closely to these organizations."

Ray Gaesser, who is in the second year of his first three-year term on the ASA board, was elected to serve as a vice president of that organization. ASA is the membership organization representing the policy needs of soybean growers in Washington, D.C. Gaesser is a member of the ASA Public Affairs Committee, the Finance Committee and the Audit Committee, serving as chair of the Audit Committee. He is also an ISA director and was the state president in 2006-2007.

Both are known, respected at national level

"As a past president of ISA Ray knows the needs of Iowa farmers from a policy standpoint," Heisdorffer says. "He's well respected on both state and national levels."

Stillman was nominated by ISA directors and recently reappointed by the U.S. Secretary of Agriculture to his second three-year term on the USB board, the national organization representing the soybean checkoff. In addition to serving on the USB executive board, he will begin his second year as chairman of the Audit and Evaluation Committee and will again serve on the Domestic Marketing Committee, both of which he has been a member for the past three years.

Stillman also continues to serve on the Soy Nutrition Institute board and the Qualisoy board, organizations which include both industry and USB representatives. Jim Stillman has a great background on many issues on the checkoff side," says Heisdorffer. "As a member of the USB executive committee, he will be an excellent representative for our state's soybean farmers."

Additionally, Iowa is represented by John Hoffman, who was the president of ASA in 2008 and will serve as chairman of the board in 2009. John is a soybean farmer from Waterloo.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.