Iowa Beef Council Elects New Officers

Iowa Beef Industry Council chooses southwest Iowa cattle feeder as chairman for 2008.

A cattle feeder from Emerson in southwest Iowa, Will Frazee, was recently elected chairman of the Iowa Beef Industry Council for 2008. He'll lead the group that oversees the beef checkoff program for Iowa's 30,000 plus beef producers.

Dan Cook, New Providence, is vice-chairman; treasurer is Elaine Utesch, Correctionville, and secretary is Stan Zylstra, Hull. Scott Niess, Osage and Zylstra were elected by cattle producers at the recent 2008 annual meeting.

Other members serving on the IBIC executive committee are Bill Northey, Iowa Secretary of Agriculture; Wendy Wintersteen, Dean of the College of Agriculture at Iowa State University; and Phil Schooley of Bloomfield, representing Iowa livestock markets.

New one-year directors for IBIC

Newly approved for a one-year term are Malcolm Miller of Beaman, and Roger Brummett, Bedford. Cattle producers also serving one year terms are Alan Albright, Lytton; Terri Carstensen, Odebolt; Mike Curran, Chariton; Tom Hotz, Lone Tree; Scott McGregor, Nashua; Doug Rock, Swea City; Helen Wiese, Manning and Del Ranney, Lamoni.

The IBIC administers the Iowa portion of the national beef checkoff. The 2007-08 Iowa budget will invest about $1.6 million in state and national beef promotion, research, consumer information, and industry information programs.

In addition, Iowa forwards approximately $1.6 million to the national Cattlemen's Beef Board to be distributed to national beef promotion programs to market beef domestically and internationally. For information, contact the IBIC, Box 451, Ames, IA 50010 or 515-296-2305 or [email protected].

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.