Iowa Cooperative Signs New Wind Farm Deal

Iowa Cooperative Signs New Wind Farm Deal

Construction on Elk Wind Farm begins in Delaware County in eastern Iowa. It's another big step in the expanded use of Iowa's abundant wind energy to generate electricity.

Central Iowa Power Cooperative announced December 15 the signing of a 20-year power purchase agreement that commits the state's largest cooperative energy provider to buy the entire output from the Elk Wind Farm. The project will produce approximately 41 megawatts of electricity or enough energy for about 14,000 typical Iowa homes.

"This agreement marks a significant step in CIPCO's expanded use of Iowa's abundant wind energy resource and a commitment to enhance the local economy," says Dennis Murdock, CEO and executive vice president of CIPCO. "This particular project is ideal given the location in Delaware County that is served by one of our member cooperatives, Maquoketa Valley Electric Cooperative. Benefits to the local community will include new jobs during the construction phase and a number of permanent positions once the wind farm is operational, as well as enhanced tax revenue for the county."

Elk Wind project expected to start producing electricity in fall 2011

The Elk Wind Farm, being developed by RPM Access, is the first wind energy project in Delaware County. It will spread over 3,200 acres of open farmland while using approximately 12 acres for the wind farm facilities. Construction of the substation began today, and the Elk Wind project is expected to start producing electricity as early as October of 2011.

"At a time when growth in the wind energy industry has slowed considerably in Iowa, we are proud to commit to a new wind project with a local developer," says Murdock. "Elk Wind is another way we are adding value for CIPCO's member owners by supplying a clean, renewable source of Iowa-based electricity."

Central Iowa Power Cooperative is a member-owned, not-for-profit electric cooperative that generates and transmits power to our member owners-13 member-owned electric cooperatives and associations-all located within the state of Iowa. CIPCO's members collectively serve a population of more than 320,000 rural and urban Iowans located in 58 of Iowa's 99 counties. This service territory stretches 300 miles diagonally across Iowa and includes or adjoins 12 of Iowa's 17 cities with populations greater than 25,000. CIPCO is headquartered in Cedar Rapids, Iowa with locations in Wilton, Montpelier, Creston and Des Moines. For additional information, visit

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.