Iowa Corn Growers Elect New Officers

At their recent annual meeting and policy conference in Des Moines, the Iowa Corn Growers Association and Iowa Corn Promotion Board each elected new officers. These farmers are leaders who will bring valuable experience dealing with policy and issues important to corn growers.

New farmer leaders for the Iowa Corn Growers Association (ICGA) and the Iowa Corn Promotion Board (ICPB) were elected at the recent annual meeting and policy conference which ICGA and ICPB held in Des Moines in late August. These corn farmers are leaders who will bring extensive experience in dealing with policy issues and market development to their respective boards.

ICGA elects central Iowa farmer as new president

Dean Taylor, a corn and soybean grower from Prairie City in Jasper County for more than 30 years, is the new ICGA president.  An ICGA board member since 2001, Taylor has served on the Export and Grain Trade and Animal Ag and Environment Committees for Iowa Corn.  He also represents Iowa as vice-chair on the National Corn Growers Production and Stewardship Action Team and chairs their sub-committee that monitors climate change issues.       

Joining Taylor on the ICGA officer team: Kevin Ross of Minden is ICGA president-elect; Bruce Rohwer of Paullina is ICGA secretary/treasurer; Don Elsbernd of Postville is ICGA past president.

ICPB elects southeast Iowa farmer as new chairman

Dick Gallagher who farms near the town of Washington in Washington County in southeast Iowa has been named the new ICPB chairman. Gallagher, a farmer for 36 years, has done extensive work in the value-added and export areas, including serving on the U.S. Grains Council's ROW Advisory Team A committee. He serves on the Export and Grain Trade and Research and Business Development committees with Iowa Corn.  

Rounding out the ICPB officer team are: Deb Keller of Clarion, is chair-elect; Kevin Rempp of Montezuma, is ICPB secretary/treasurer; and Julius Schaaf of Randolph is the past chairman of ICPB. 

The ICPB and ICGA share a common mission to create opportunities for long-term Iowa corn grower profitability.  The ICGA represents 6,000 members and lobbies on a variety of agricultural issues important to growers.  The ICPB is responsible for investing Iowa corn checkoff funds to develop and defend markets, conduct research, and provide education about corn and corn products.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.