Iowa Governor's Charity Steer Show Raises Record $225,850

Iowa Governor's Charity Steer Show Raises Record $225,850

Fund raiser at 2014 Iowa State Fair sets new record; all proceeds go to benefit Ronald McDonald Houses of Iowa.

Records were broken again for the third consecutive year as the 32nd annual Governor's Charity Steer Show raised $225,850 this past Saturday at the 2014 Iowa State Fair. This is the highest selling auction to date for this yearly fund-raising event. All of the money raised goes to the Ronald McDonald Houses of Iowa.

CHAMPION STEER: The champion steer at the 2014 Governor's Charity Steer Show was shown by Iowa Lt. Governor Kim Reynolds. Shown from left to right are Jim White, Giada Lujano, Speed Herrig, Lt. Governor Kim Reynolds, Charlie Peters and Ben VonGlan.

The money raised through the auction will benefit the Ronald McDonald Houses of Des Moines, Iowa City and Sioux City.  All of the houses are located near hospitals and provide a "home away from home" for families of seriously ill children. The Iowa Beef Industry Council and the Iowa Cattlemen's Association sponsor the annual steer show and auction. Iowa Governor Terry Branstad hosted this year's event held on August 9 in the Pioneer Livestock Pavilion at the Iowa State Fair.

Since its inception in 1983, the Governor's Charity Steer Show has raised over $2.5 million for the Ronald McDonald Houses of Iowa. The auction, which began when 25 steers paraded into the livestock pavilion, was led by Governor Terry Branstad and other celebrity showpersons competing for the title of "Judge's Choice."

RECORD AMOUNT: The 2014 Iowa Governor's Charity Steer Show raised a record $225,850 in total. Shown from left to right are Brent Freeman, Emma Sinclair, Susan Sinclair, Bob Sinclair, Governor Terry Branstad and Tori Freeman.

Champion steer was shown by Lt. Governor Kim Reynolds
The official steer show judge for this year's show was Charlie Peters of Bellevue, who manages and owns Peters Family Farms. The judge selected the steer "Chasin Jason," shown by Iowa Lt. Governor Kim Reynolds for overall grand champion honors. The Crawford County Cattlemen's Association and Tyson Fresh Meats sponsored the steer. Cookies BBQ Sauce Company of Wall Lake purchased the steer at the auction for $12,500. Ben Von Glan of Vail owned the steer. Additional donations were made to the sale of the steer by Friends of Ben Von Glan for $300.


In the other categories at this year's show, the steer shown by Mike Pearson was selected by the crowd for the title of "People's Choice." This steer, named "Toby," was sponsored by the Iowa Bankers Association and purchased by Riverside Casino for $29,000; which makes it the second highest ever selling steer to date. Tanner Knupp of Washington in southeast Iowa raised the steer.

Showmanship award went to Lahr family; steer raised $7,500
Scott and Cora Lahr along with their son Emmet earned the Showmanship Award. The Lahr family was selected by Mark Dorenkamp, who served as the event's Showmanship Judge. The Lahr family's steer, "Thanks A Million," was sponsored by Volunteer Boards of Iowa Ronald McDonald Houses. The steer was raised by Taylor Lekin of Toledo and purchased by Tama Livestock Auction for $7,500.

Emcees for the show were farm broadcaster Bob Quinn, WHO Radio, and Michelle Rook, WNAX Radio. A special guest appearance from Ronald McDonald kept the show lively. The auctioneer for the auction was Phil Schooley from Bloomfield Livestock Auction Company. Catching bids alongside Schooley were Mike Sorensen and Austin Brandt of Livestock Plus, Tom Rooney of The Midwest Marketer, and Jason Lekin of Tama Livestock Auction.

Listed on the Iowa Beef Industry Council [email protected] is a press release with information on the steers and the 25 youth who raised them, along with the sponsors, celebrity showpersons, and buyers, respectively. Doug Bear, director of industry relations for the Iowa Beef Industry Council, adds: "Thank you to all steer owners, sponsors, celebrities, and buyers who participated in this year's event!"

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.