ISU Students Win National Agri-Marketing Competition

ISU Students Win National Agri-Marketing Competition

Iowa State's NAMA chapter took first place in National Agri-Marketing Association's student marketing team competition for 2012 at Kansas City.

The Iowa State National Agri-Marketing Association (NAMA) chapter won first place in the association's Student Marketing Team Competition, held in conjunction with the association's annual conference and trade show April 17-20 in Kansas City, Mo.

Students from Iowa State University's chapter of NAMA, the National Agri-Marketing Association, had success in Kansas City recently. They won first place in the 2012 NAMA student marketing team competition.

To compete, students developed a business plan and professional presentation to market a new product or service. This year the team marketed Caridea Farms fresh Iowa-raised shrimp. The team was judged by a panel of marketing and agribusiness professionals. The chapter's marketing team advanced to the final round of competition, ultimately beating out 29 other universities for the first place honors. This is the first time Iowa State University has won the national NAMA competition. 

The chapter also won the John Deere Signature award for overall points accrued for student participation, involvement in the national competition, scholarship awards and annual report. The team received $3,000 with the award that will be used for future ISU NAMA chapter activities.

Iowa State's NAMA chapter team won National Agri-Marketing competition

Team members included: Darrin Rahn of Milledgeville, IL and Kaci Demott of Rockport, MO, seniors in agricultural business; Brittany Jurgemeyer of Rockwell, IA, a senior in public service and administration in agriculture; Abby Webb of Wapello, IA, senior in marketing; Jessica Kuehner of Lawler, IA, senior in agricultural studies; Alyssa Foster of Riverside, IA, senior in agricultural education; Ellie Weiss of Ames, IA, junior in agricultural studies; Andy Edson of Nashua, IA and Marcie Stevenson of Wheatland, IA, juniors in agricultural business; Beth Irlbeck of Dedham, IA, junior in public service and administration in agriculture; Traci Tiernan of Granger, IA, junior in agricultural education, communications option; Katy Darrah of Monmouth, IL, junior in agronomy; Alicia Humphrey of Ionia, WI, sophomore in ag education, communications option; Donna McCune of Manlius, IL, Emily Flory of Denver, IA, Breanne Wagner of Webster City, IA, Joy Tong of Ningbo, China and Dacia Dykstra of Decorah, IA, all sophomores in ag business; Tanner Walleser of Lansing, IA, freshman in pre-business; and Jordan and Calvin McBride both from Alburnett, IA and both freshman in ag business.

The team is coached by Stacey Noe, Agricultural Entrepreneurial Initiative program coordinator; Carly Cummings, Agricultural Entrepreneurship Initiative program assistant; and Lori Youngberg, CALS Distance Education program coordinator.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.