Nominations Open for 2008 Spencer Award

Leopold Center seeks nominations for sustainable agriculture award; deadline is May 15.

Nominations for the 2008 Spencer Award for Sustainable Agriculture are due May 15, 2008. The prestigious award honors Iowans who help family farms prosper and contribute to a vibrant rural community. The Leopold Center for Sustainable Agriculture at Iowa State University administers the award, which includes a $1,000 cash prize.

The Spencer Award has been presented since 2002 and recognizes significant contributions of farmers, researchers or educators to the advancement of ecological and economic practices that will make agriculture sustainable and the family farm secure for the future. The award also honors the beliefs, innovations and stewardship of Norman and Margaretha Spencer, who farmed near Sioux City for 40 years. They believed that it is the obligation of each generation to leave the world a better and healthier place for the next generation.

Individuals may apply for the award or be nominated by others. Agricultural organizations are strongly encouraged to submit nominations to highlight the achievements of their members.

More information about the award and nomination forms can be found on the Leopold Center Web site,, or requested by calling the Center at 515-294-3711. For questions, contact Mary Adams by fax 515-294-9696 or e-mail (with Spencer Award as the subject line) to [email protected].  

The Leopold Center, established by the 1987 Iowa Groundwater Protection Act, supports the development of profitable farming systems that conserve natural resources. The Center is named after Iowa-born conservationist Aldo Leopold and is located at Iowa State University.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.