Retallick named chair of Iowa State University Ag Ed Department

Retallick named chair of Iowa State University Ag Ed Department

Mike Retallick is the new chairman of the Department of Ag Education & Studies at ISU, effective July.

Mike Retallick, a professor in the department of agricultural education and studies at Iowa State University, has been named its department chair. Retallick’s appointment is effective July 1. He succeeds William Miller, who served as interim chair for seven years and will continue as a professor in the department.

“I look forward to working with Dr. Retallick, an accomplished teacher and scholar, in continuing the department’s great work. Educating agricultural students is the core of the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences,” says Wendy Wintersteen, endowed dean of the college. “And my thanks go to Dr. Miller for his leadership and service to the department. 

Dr. Michael Retallick

Retallick is an ISU alum who joined the faculty in 2001

Mike Retallick is an Iowa State alumnus, earning a doctorate in ag education in 2005. He also earned a master’s degree in agribusiness from Kansas State University and a bachelor’s degree in ag education from the University of Wisconsin at Platteville.

“I’m honored and humbled to serve in this leadership role for a nationally recognized department in a college ranked among the best in the world,” Retallick says.

He joined Iowa State in 2001 as the coordinator of academic advising and undergraduate admissions for the department. Retallick became assistant professor in 2006, associate professor in 2012 and professor in 2016. Last year, he was one of six educators to receive the National Association of Agricultural Educators Teacher Mentor Award. He also received the Iowa FFA Association’s 2015 Distinguished Service Award and was named the AgOnline 2014 Teacher of the Year by ISU’s Brenton Center for Agricultural Instruction and Technology Transfer.

Hogberg selected for prestigious livestock industry honor

In other news announced recently by ISU, one of the American livestock industry’s highest honors will be awarded to an ISU emeritus professor and former animal science department chair.

The 2016 Saddle and Sirloin Club Portrait Award will be presented to Maynard Hogberg at a ceremony in Louisville, Ky., in November. Hogberg’s portrait will be unveiled as the newest entry in the Saddle and Sirloin Club Portrait Collection, a 113-year-old tradition honoring leaders who have demonstrated lifetime achievements and provided outstanding service to animal agriculture.

For three decades, Hogberg led animal science departments at Iowa State University and Michigan State University. He chaired Michigan State’s animal science department from 1984 to 2002 and ISU’s animal science department from 2003 to 2015.

One of the nation’s premier leaders of animal science programs

“The Saddle and Sirloin Club honor recognizes Dr. Hogberg’s legacy as one of the nation’s premier university leaders of animal science programs,” said Wendy Wintersteen, endowed dean of the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences. “During his tenure, he contributed greatly to enhance our animal science department’s reputation. Due to his leadership, the department is nationally and internationally recognized for its strong undergraduate and graduate programs, an excellent broad-based research program and an actively engaged Extension program. His engagement with and responsiveness to the needs of Iowa livestock and poultry industries was critical in helping Iowa State meet its land-grant mission to Iowa agriculture.”

As a national leader in animal agriculture, Hogberg shaped a generation of animal scientists, Extension specialists and industry leaders through his mentoring of students, faculty and staff and academia and industry colleagues. Hogberg provided leadership to numerous state and national livestock associations and organizations, including serving as president of the American Society of Animal Science and of the Federation of Animal Science Societies. He was instrumental in the formation of the National Swine Registry.

Hogberg will be the 369th person honored since 1903, joining the ranks of other notable names in Iowa State history, including Seaman Knapp, Charles F. Curtiss, Henry Kildee, Jay Lush and Richard Willham. Willham, an emeritus distinguished professor, was the last Iowa State person to be inducted, in 2004.

ISU is seeks donations to help pay for portrait, support scholarships

Iowa State is seeking donations to raise $60,000 to fund the expenses of Hogberg’s portrait and honor ceremony, plus to support student scholarships and judging team programs in ISU’s Department of Animal Science. Donations are tax deductible. Checks, made payable to the Iowa State University Foundation, can be sent to Dessie Schroeder, ISU Department of Animal Science, 109 Kildee Hall, Ames, IA 50011. Donations also can be made online.

The Saddle and Sirloin Club Portrait Collection is curated by the Kentucky State Fair Board and displayed in the Kentucky Exposition Center in Louisville. It is believed to be the world’s largest portrait gallery commemorating a single industry.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.